Category — North Carolina Courses
North Carolina State CE Requirements
Water and Wastewater Operators
Water and Wastewater Operators must take 6 hours of continuing education every year by December 31st. (Division of Water Quality)
PLEASE NOTE THIS COURSE IS NOT CURRENTLY AVAILABLE. For an in-depth list of our course offerings, please visit our main course listings page or call us at 1-877-251-4387. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Registered Sanitarians and Sanitarian Interns
Registered Sanitarians and Sanitarian Interns must successfully complete at least 15 clock hours of continuing education annually in order to renew their registration. The renewal date is January 1st. The Board requires each CE course to be approved annually. No courses are automatically approved for multiple years. (North Carolina Board of Sanitarians)
FAQs about Wastewater Operator License Renewal
Q. I did not pay my annual fee last year, but I did have 6 hours of continuing education as required. What do I have to do to renew my certificate?
You will have to pay the $50 annual fee, plus a $50 late fee, to update your status from “invalid” to “active”.
Q. I have not renewed my wastewater certification (license) in several years. What do I have to do to get my certification (license) reinstated?
To renew a wastewater certificate that has been invalid for more than 2 consecutive years, you are required to take and make a passing score on an examination of the same type and grade as your former certificate. In order to be eligible for the exam, you must comply with all requirements of the regulation, which includes attending the appropriate grade and type of wastewater school.
Q. I did not renew my wastewater license last year. What do I have to do to get my license reinstated?
If your license has been invalid for no more than 2 consecutive years, all outstanding fees and penalties that have accrued must be paid, and all continuing education requirements must be met.
Q. How long will it take for me to receive my wallet card after Technical Assistance and Certification (TACU) processes the renewal invoice?
It can take up to 6 weeks to receive your wallet card.
Q. Are there any allowances for waiving late fees on renewals?
The Water Pollution Control System Operators Certification Commission waives the late fee for operators who have been called away for military duty.
Q. If I did not receive my renewal form or did not receive it in time, do I have to pay a late fee once I renew my certification?
Yes. It is the responsibility of the operator to ensure his or her certification is renewed annually. Renewals are due before the end of the calendar year. On each operator’s wallet card is the renewal due date. The Technical Assistance and Certification Unit will send out renewal notices the same time every year. If you have not received an invoice before December 1, you should call the Technical Assistance and Certification Unit at (919) 733-0026 and request an invoice.
State Licensing Boards
The North Carolina Division of Water Quality
The North Carolina Division of Water Quality (DWQ) in the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) is the agency responsible for statewide regulatory programs in groundwater and surface water protection.
Technical Assistance and Certification Unit
1618 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1618
Telephone: (919) 733-0026
Fax: (919) 733-1338
219 East North Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
North Carolina State Board of Sanitarian Examiners
Janice Jones, Administrative Secretary to the Board
PO Box 610
Lumberton, NC 28359